Thursday, August 13, 2009

Bourne Braves, Cape Cod League Champions

Bourne Braves defeated the Cotuit Kettleers 5-1 yesterday winning the Arnold Mycock Trophy.

The Cape Cod Baseball League provides a getaway for purist baseball fans wishing to avoid discussions about supplements, astericks and PEDS. It showcases the best college baseball players and introduces them to the nuances of hitting a baseball with a wood bat. The games are well attended by locals, vacationers and MLB scouts.

The roster of MLB players, past and present, that have played in the Cape Cod League include:

Ben Sheets, Matt Murton, Jason Bay, Lance Berkman, Jacoby Ellsbury, Nomar Garciaparra, Brandon Inge, Tim Lincecum, Evan Longoria, Carlos Pena, Mark Teixeira, Chase Utley, Jason Varitek, Kevin Youkilis, Mike Lowell, Carlton Fisk, Kevin Millar, John Tudor, JT Snow, Ron Darling and Brian Roberts

The real "field of dreams" shouldn't have been about a cornfield in Iowa filled with baseball's past. The real "if you build it, they will come" scenario should have been about the annual two-month lovefest with baseball's future known as the Cape Cod Baseball League.

From Chatham to Wareham on this famous stretch of land about an hour south of Boston, nothing is a better central-casting depiction of what baseball should look like and sound like than the 10-team college summer league that attracts the best players and caters to a fan base that ranges from small children to the elderly.

No comments:

Post a Comment